• Light In The Attic: Pacific Breeze - Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986 (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP - PRE-ORDER
  • Light In The Attic: Pacific Breeze - Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986 (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP - PRE-ORDER

Light In The Attic
Pacific Breeze - Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986 (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP - PRE-ORDER

Light In The Attic

↳ 'sophisticated music mirroring Japan’s punch-drunk prosperity'

Pre-Order Notice
this item is scheduled to ship Early May 2019
all pre-orders ship with Lab stickers + notepad
Vinyl 2LP $38.95
Earn up to 389 Reward Points with this purchase! more info

Pre-Order Notes + Order Instructions

  • This item is scheduled to ship Early May 2019 (subject to change)
  • If you want to order additional items with a pre-order item, please make separate orders (1 order with pre-order item, 1 order with everything else)
  • If there is a delay, we will contact you directly
  • all pre-orders come with Turntable Lab stickers + notepad

'As Michael K. Bourdaghs noted in his book, Sayonara Amerika, Sayonara Nippon, this music was, “Deconstructing the line between imitation and authenticity.” Some of the best City Pop teeters in this zone—easy listening with mutant exotica, tilted techno-pop, and steamy boogie bubbling beneath the gloss.' - Light In The Attic

The latest chapter in Light In The Attic’s Japan Archival Series, following 2017’s Lab-platinum Even A Tree Can Shed Tears (almost everyone in the Lab office bought a copy of that one) with a new 16-track set charting the progression from Japan’s tender folk rock scene into the burgeoning sound of City Pop, an inherently Japanese take on boogie funk, AOR and soft rock that reflected the upbeat vibes of the country’s increasing economic prosperity, cultural rebirth and artistic realization in the postwar era. The collection features important tracks from scene luminaries and Lab faves Haruomi Hosono and Shigeru Suzuki (both formerly of Happy End, arguably the progenitors of this sound; and Hosono famously co-founder of Yellow Magic Orchestra), Minako Yoshida, Hiroshi Sato, Taeko Ohnuki, Masayoshi Takanaka and more. Pacific Breeze lays down a strong baseline with four sensual boogie cuts from the scene’s leading ladies (Tomoko Soryo, Ohnuki, Yoshida, Nanako Sato) before wandering into weirder, more electronic territory with Hosono-san’s “Sports Men” and Izumi Kobayashi’s “Coffee Rumba.” Seaside Lovers’ “Sun Bathing,” Sato’s “Say Goodbye,” Takanaka’s “Bamboo Vender” and Suzuki’s bossa-infused “Lady Pink Panther” are other highlights. While many of the LPs these tracks are culled from have been reissued in recent years (highly recommended if you can get ahold of them), Light In The Attic’s unparalleled programming yields the finest survey of the City Pop sound we could imagine; a cohesive and enjoyable listen from top to bottom. All tracks have been remastered and are pressed on indie exclusive pink colored vinyl, housed in printed inner sleeves with extensive liner notes, custom die cut obi strip and foldout booklet, recommended.

  • indie exclusive pink colored vinyl (please note: actual pressing color may differ from mock-up photo)
  • double vinyl pressing
  • remastered audio
  • custom die-cut obi strip
  • housed in full color printed inner sleeves
  • includes foldout booklet with extensive liner notes + artist bios
  • compiled by Andy Cabic, Zach Cowie + Mark ‘Frosty’ McNeill
  • artwork by famed Japanese illustrator Hiroshi Nagai
  • release date: 05/03/19
  • tracklist: 1. I Say Who - Tomoko Soryo 2. Kusuri Wo Takusan - Taeko Ohnuki 3. Midnight Driver - Minako Yoshida 4. Subterranean Futari Bocci - Nanako Sato 5. Sports Men - Haruomi Hosono 6. Coffee Rumba - Izumi Kobayashi 7. In My Jungle - F.O.E. 8. Sun Bathing - Akira Inoue, Hiroshi Sato, Masataka Matsutoya 9. Say Goodbye - Hiroshi Satoh 10. Drip Dry Eyes - Yukihiro Takahashi 11. Bamboo Vender - Masayoshi Takanaka 12. Lady Pink Panther - Shigeru Suzuki 13. Mykonos No Hanayome - Haruomi Hosono, Takahiko Ishikawa, Masataka Matsutoya 14. L.A. Night - Yasuko Agawa 15. Exotic Yokogao - Hitomi Tohyama 16. Machibouke - Tazumi Toyoshima
  • music label: Light In The Attic 2019
reviewed by sunrise mart 03/2019

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question


Free Shipping on orders over $99 to the Contiguous US
You have no items in your cart
Free Shipping for orders over $99
shipping to Contiguous US
Edit Cart
Continue Shopping