Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Ananda Shankar And His Music Vinyl LP

Far Eastern SunshineSKU fr-3171

acclaimed funk filled album from the Bengali sitar master
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Classic album of sitar infused funk from Ananda Shankar. This one features two of the musicians standout cuts, "Streets Of Calcutta" and the incendiary "Dancing Drums." Shankar effortlessly fused rock and funk rhythms with traditional Indian melodies and instrumentation. Nowhere did it all come together better than Ananda Shankar And His Music. Although this album was widely acclaimed, Shankar faded into obscurity in the West after its release. His music would find a new audience in the 1990s as his music was given fresh attention from Sam Zaman, aka State Of Bengal, and similarly minded DJS and producers.

  • music label: His Master's Voice 1975 / Far Eastern Sunshine 2015
reviewed by Cool Hand 05/2015
UPC: 74110980


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed