Skip to content
🔴 Extra 20% off Clearance Vinyl, use code EXTRA20 shop now
🔴 Extra 20% off Clearance Vinyl, use code EXTRA20 shop now
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Birth of Violence (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Sargent HouseSKU lp-10825

weary & haunted neo-folk with electronics creeping in the margins
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Chelsea Wolfe is an American singer-songwriter and musician that blends elements of gothic rock, doom metal, and folk music. The combination of her striking soprano voice and strong aesthetic sense has lead to a fierce fanbase across many underground scenes. 2011’s Apokalypsis was hardly more than voice and electric guitar, 2012’s Unknown Rooms was fully acoustic. 2013’s Pain is Beauty saw the introduction of eclectic, ethereal electronics with moments that are reminiscent of Chromatics and Zola Jesus. Hiss Spun was her most metal-influenced record yet, and featured performances from members of Converge, Queens of the Stone Age, and Isis. 2019’s Birth of Violence is a return to her neo-folk roots and is a weary and haunted affair overall. “The Mother Road” begins the album with eerie violin and reverberating guitar strums, thunderous percussion cut through by her fierce voice. “Deranged for Rock & Roll” has vocals sung and growled alike among guitar squall and blown-out drums. “Highway” is barely more than voice, guitar, and abstract atmospherics - synths warbling away in the margins. The album ends with a field recording of a storm, a reminder of the brutally cleansing power of nature. This album is pressed on blood red vinyl, and includes a 12x12 booklet with lyrics, photos, and credits. Recommended.

  • indie exclusive "blood red" vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • includes 12x12 booklet with photos, lyrics, and credits
  • limited edition
  • music label: Sargent House 2019
reviewed by YOUNG STEWART 09/2019
UPC: 634457822085


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed