Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Everyday! details

In a Minor Groove (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Real Gone MusicSKU fr-4090

smooth-sailing minor-key jazz from arguably the greatest harpist of all time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Before Dorothy Ashby was the soul-jazz queen of the harp we know of her now, (and I'm not knocking the spiritual-jazz queen of the harp Alice, aka Turiyasangitananda) she cut three deep bop albums with flutist Frank Wess. Finally properly reissued is In A Minor Groove, the second of the three albums, and originally released in 1958. It features Herman Wright on bass and Roy Haynes on drums, along with Ashby and Wess, playing minor-key tunes. Remastered from the original mono tapes (not the rechanneled stereo version that showed up on Prestige's later repackaging of the album called Dorothy Ashby Plays for Beautiful People) and pressed onto translucent green vinyl, the album is sublime. As Ira Gitler, the liner note author, rightly points out: "Here is one instance where the majority goes along with the minority." Tracks to check out are the mesmerizing and blissed out standards like "Alone Together" and "Yesterdays", the cover of the rhumba "Taboo" (imo, favorite track), and the amazing "Bohemia After Dark," which showcases Ashby's ability to turn her harp into a rhythm guitar. Presented with the original artwork, liner notes, and label design in an edition of 1000 copies, this album is not to be slept on! Released by Real Gone Music. Recommended.

  • transparent green vinyl
  • remastered from original mono tapes
  • replica cover art and liner notes
  • limited pressing
  • music label: Real Gone Music 2019
reviewed by Richard Cashmere 4/2019
UPC: 848064008477


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed