Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

I Need to Start a Garden (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Mama Bird Recording CoSKU lp-10561

sophisticated, heartfelt alt-folk from the Northwest
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fresh, raw, lively, tender - all words that describe Hayley Heynderickx’ garden of acoustic delights. Her debut LP I Need To Start A Garden follows a string of digital singles and a collaborative EP with Max García Conover. Haley's voice is often compared to her contemporary Angel Olsen, but her delicate harmonies and shivering timbre also bring to mind Laurel Canyon-inspired Alela Diane. Opening track “No Face” begins as a minimalist reference to a character in a Miyazaki film (Spirited Away) but unfurls in a harrowing fashion. “The Bug Collector” is an album highlight, the lyrics revealing a web of delicately layered analogies over finger-picked guitar, moody brass, and ethereal backing vocals. “Worth It” is the most capital R Rock moment here, 8 minutes of acoustic and electric guitar interplay and scampering snares. “Show You A Body” is anxious piano and mantra-like lyrics with an eerie urgency. This LP is pressed on limited edition clear smoke vinyl and includes a printed insert with full album lyrics.

  • indie exclusive clear smoke vinyl pressing
  • includes printed lyrics insert
  • limited edition
  • music label: Mama Bird Recording Co 2018
reviewed by BURPEE 05/2019
UPC: 734038993866


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed