Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Jorge Ben (180g) Vinyl LP

PhilipsSKU fr-3937

soulful samba from Brazilian legend
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sixth studio album from Brazil's Jorge Ben. Ben's eponymous release seamlessly blended samba and soul, and continued to set the brilliant singer-songwriter from his contemporaries. With Ben's breezy delivery and softly strummed guitar, the many percussive elements and chanted choruses, we're given the most infectious parts of samba. The soul is reflected in the strings and horns, reminiscent of Motown's psychedelic sound of the late 60s. Ben's refusal to align himself with any of the popular Brazilian musical movements at the time he was somewhat of an outsider. Jorge Ben would change all that as artists like Gal Costa, Caetano Veloso, and many more would cover much of the material on the album. Notable songs include: "Pais Tropical," "Criola" - both of which have been covered by a wide array of artists - and the instantly recognizable "Take It Easy My Brother Charles." Eleven tracks in all. Released by Philips on 180 gram vinyl housed in a full color sleeve.

  • 180 gram pressing
  • official UK repress
  • music label: Philips 2018
reviewed by feijoada 08/2018
UPC: 34854768


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed