Skip to content
  1. Sale on JBL / Rega / Audio-Technica + more shop gear specials

La Roux Vinyl LP

PolydorSKU lp-4396

debut LP from the UK synth-pop duo
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$19.95 Original Price$23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It certainly has been a meteoric year for La Roux.  What started last year with a 12" on Kitsune has now blown up into a self-titled LP that has already been certified gold in the UK (along with two top ten singles that featured some huge remixes), now finally seeing release here in the good old US of A.  In case you've been sleeping, La Roux is comprised of Elly Jackson on vocals and Ben Langmaid on synths, and when you put 'em together you wind up with a duo that has a serious knack for writing catchy-as-fuck synth-pop.  "Bulletproof" is probably the catchiest of the bunch, and should translate to most dancefloors exceptionally.  "In For The Kill," which was remixed by Skream to wildly popular results, and "Quicksand" are also danceable standouts.  "Cover My Eyes" is a great mid-tempo ballad, while "As If By Magic" and "Fascination" are both dripping with new wave pop sensibility.  Honestly, all of the tracks here are really well crafted, the album never really falters.  It's rarer and rarer to find an album without a skipable moment these days, but this is one of em.  Pressed on 180g vinyl and packaged in a gatefold pic-sleeve.  Highly recommended.

  • includes download card
  • music label: Polydor / 2009
reviewed by Hires 10/2009


UPC: 87951662


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed