Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Last Night Something Happened (180g Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

GravefaceSKU rsd19bf-003

dream pop from Eternal & Slowdive members
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Christian Savill and Sean Hewson formed Monster Movie in 1989, but the band was put on hold until 1999. When Savill parted ways with Slowdive, the two started recording again, and Last Night Something Happened is the first full-length from the duo, originally released in 2002. Although the shoegaze DNA still lingers, Savill and Hewson expand their sound, crafting a more atmospheric record that's heavier on acoustic guitars and piano notes than pedals and synth drones. What comes forth is a distinctly wistful dream pop record—check out the beautiful and jengly "Waiting," which feels like a lighter Slowdive tune, or the opener "First Trip to the City," a melancholic, stripped down instrumental that succeeds in setting the mood. Songs like "Home," "Shortwave," and "Sleeping On a Train" also embody the lonely, slightly blurry sound, and this is a welcome reissue (first time in 17 years) granted that the OG copies, limited to 500 units, go for a good amount of money on vinyl marketplaces.

  • first reissue in 17 years
  • Crash Landing EP included
  • clear & white vinyl, 180g pressing
  • limited to 1000 copies
  • includes printed lyrics
  • music label: Graveface 2002 / 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 03/2020
UPC: 643157446774

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed