Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Moon Child (180g) Vinyl LP

Tidal Waves MusicSKU fr-4197

soulful, mellow 1989 Paris date from iconic jazz saxophonist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The idea of a late 80s Pharoah Sanders record had me conjuring all sorts of wild shit, but this October 1989 date in Paris is surprisingly relaxed and highly listenable. By this point I guess he figured his far-out spiritual-skronking-free-jazz credentials were solidified (they were), so he could keep it smooth and in-tune. The gorgeous title track opens the session with a super mellow vocal over a restrained soul jazz groove. Horace Silver’s “Moon Rays” is basically a perfect instrumental with Pharoah’s tenor playing a modest second chair to Eddie Moore’s divine drumming (he’s exquisite throughout this session; it’s some of the most spiritual playing I’ve heard in a while). The mood ramps up on “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes” and “All Or Nothing At All” before winding down with “Soon” and “Moniebah.” Overall, the record bears more resemblance to Lonnie Liston Smith’s early albums than Pharoah’s gnarly stuff with Trane, but the few moments where he really gets open are more potent when peppered into mellower fare like this. First-ever vinyl reissue with obi strip and liner notes, limited to 500, recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl since 1990
  • includes obi strip
  • limited edition of 500
  • music label: Tidal Waves Music 2019
reviewed by nick nightingale 10/2019
UPC: 752505992181


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed