Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Urban Hymns (180g) Vinyl 2LP

CapitolSKU lp-7934

1997 commercial breakthrough album from Wigan rock band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“Bitter Sweet Symphony” is the biggest single from Urban Hymns and certainly one of the standouts of the ‘90s, but the album, The Verve’s third and most commercially successful, contains other tracks that show Richard Ashcroft’s ability to write memorable and at times classic records. “Now the drugs don’t work / They just make you worse / But I Know I’ll see your face again,” grieves the lead singer on “Drugs Don’t Work,” and songs like “Lucky Man,” “Sonnet,” and “One Day” that fill up the LP perfectly capture the Wigan band’s aesthetic, which combines psych and space rock to the tune of Britpop. The band went through breakups, legal problems (w/ the Stones over the use of the sample in “Bitter Sweet Symphony), and members’ individual struggles in the ‘90s, but when they were “whole,” they made music representative of the the era. This is a limited edition 180g pressing of Urban Hymns released in 2008.

  • music label: Capitol Records 2008
reviewed by donut savage 08/2016
UPC: 06259716


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed