Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Plays Arirang & Other Assorted Classics (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Beat Ball MusicSKU lp-10274

blistering spiritual jazz from Korea recorded in '78
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $33.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 339 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

40th Anniversary of S. Korean spiritual jazz high-water mark. Originally recorded in 1978 and released in '79, Plays Arirang & Other Assorted Classics was considered the first recording of modern bop done by Korean musicians. The album blends free and modal jazz elements within a Korean folk framework, exploring soul jazz and boogaloo patterns that make the album sound like one of the finer Strata East or Black Jazz titles with hints of David Axelrod's drum breaks. As virtually no other jazz recordings were taking place at the time in Korea, the album was recorded in a rock band / gayo style, which has resulted in a unique work that sounds unlike anything you've likely heard before. If the opening track "Arirang" is any indication, this album is a sprawling odyssey of jazz gold. Original copies of this record fetch close to $1,000 if you can find a clean copy, so this reissue is the next best thing. 7 Tracks in total pressed onto translucent blue vinyl. Includes extensive liner notes on 12 page booklet in English + Korean and housed in a gatefold sleeve with Obi-strip. Don't sleep!

  • translucent blue vinyl
  • includes extensive liner notes including rarely seen photos
  • Beat Ball Music 2018
reviewed by RBG 12/2018
UPC: 53509978


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed