Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Stone Throw: The Funky 16 Corners Vinyl 2LP

Stones ThrowSKU fr-2605

rare funk compilation by PB Wolf & Egon
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $15.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

One of the best funk comps Stones Throw ever released, back in print! Our original review from 2001 (geez, that was over a decade ago!): Leave it up to Egon and PB Wolf to come up with what is, in my opinion, one of best funk compilations ever. The partial result of cross-country trip that consisted of funk superheroes and bowling, Egon and PBWolf have assembled a deep collection of cleared funk gems. Needless to say these are not your typical UBB funk tracks, these are the dusty backbender ones, long time secrets of collectors. The liner notes are very comprehensive, so check Egon for the in-depth, but I'll point out some of my favorites. Co Real Artists' "What About You" is immediately one of my all-time tracks, I would listen to a whole album of this stuff. Kashmere Stage Band's "Kashmere" reveals the mysterious sample source for "Bear Witness pt.2." Watch for the outtro break on "The Dump" by the Soul Vibrations. What about the bass and drum intro of Bubbha Thomas' "Phantom," that flows into the wickedest of instrumentals - a simply badass track!!! "In the Rain" by The Wooden Glass reveals the source of much of the material chopped up by Madlib on "Six Variations," and stands alone as a beautiful piece of music. And it doesn't stop! The slow, murky break of the aptly titled "Beautiful Day" by Spider Harrison (gotta dig those vocals too)... 18 quality tracks in all, plus 1 bonus track. Double LP gatefold, full liner notes. Highly recommended. 

  • music label: Stones Throw
reviewed by the mgmnt 08/2011
UPC: 92970342


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed