Yellow Magic Orchestra Yellow Magic Orchestra USA & Yellow Magic Orchestra (180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Free Shipping
Vinyl 2LP sale $42.95 $44.95
Pin It



Deluxe reissue of Yellow Magic Orchestra's groundbreaking debut. The mega group of Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and Yukihiro Takahashi have been highly influential to the development of electronic music (often called the Japanese Kraftwerk), and this is where their work together all began. Originally formed in 1978, Hosono brought the group together by hiring keyboardist Sakamoto and drummer Takahashi as session musicians for a one-off project that would utilize then-new electronics and video game samples to cover 50's exotica styles. Little did they know at the time that the project would prove to be wildly successful and result in long lasting solo careers for each of the musicians, as well as several group albums for decades to come! Includes the classic "Firecracker," "Computer Game,"  "Simoon," "Cosmic Surfin," and many more. This excellent edition Music On Vinyl reissue includes both the American A&M pressing (with slightly different mixes to appeal to US audiences) and the original Japanese Alfa pressing on clear 180 gram vinyl with gatefold sleeve and printed inserts. Limited, numbered edition in clear plastic sleeve, sealed with custom YMO sticker. Essential material, recommended.

  • limited edition
  • clear 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • includes both USA and original Japanese versions
  • gatefold sleeve with printed inserts
  • numbered edition
  • music label: Alfa 1978 / Music On Vinyl 2015
reviewed by Denny 03/2016