Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Golden Age of Apocalypse - 10th Anniversary Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

BrainfeederSKU fr-5102

2011 debut expanded w/ 2 bonus tracks + super deluxe packaging
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Stephen Bruner aka Thundercat's much-anticipated full-length debut on Brainfeeder is here! The LA bass virtuoso has teamed up once again with Flying Lotus (who takes producer credit on this piece) to bring the mutant jazz fusion revelation known as The Golden Age Of Apocalypse to your earhole. The album picks up where Cosmogramma left off, a lush and exploratory experience that bends the boundaries of jazz fusion, beats, and electronica, with an impressive cast of guests including Erykah Badu, members of Sa-Ra and J*DaVeY, pianist Austin Peralta, and Grammy-winning drummer Ronald Bruner, Jr. (aka Thundercat's brother!). Check the bright opener "Daylight," with its warm synths and snappy beats, the easy-going soul of "Walkin'," the loose and funky improv of "Jamboree," or the insane bass layering on "Fleer Ultra" for a taste. Other highlights include the George Duke cover "For Love I Came," and the cinematic closer "Return To The Journey." Recommended.

  • 10th anniversary edition, includes bonus tracks '$200 TB' + 'Daylight (Reprise)'
  • translucent red colored vinyl
  • housed in deluxe debossed gold holofoil sleeve
  • includes printed insert
  • original release year: 2011
  • music label: Brainfeeder 2021
reviewed by Von Bee 09/2011
UPC: 5054429151459


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed