Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Modal Soul (Import) Vinyl 2LP

Hydeout ProductionsSKU lp-11203

smooth, jazzy hip-hop from "Dilla of Japan"
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $54.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 549 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Modal Soul is the last album Jun Seba aka Nujabes released while alive, originally released in 2005 on CD only. Similar to Metaphorical Music, the "Dilla of Japan" fuses jazz samples and dusty drums for a smooth, head-nodding listen, and this sophomore effort, put out on his own imprint Hydeout Productions, is especially revered by fans as the record that sees the beloved producer expanding his sound into hip-hop, from the more breakbeat outing of his aforementioned debut. As is the case, Modal Soul features Cise Starr (of CYNE), Akin, Shing02, Substantial, Apani B, Uyama Hiroto, and more. In addition, on "Ordinary Joe," Seba enlists the help of late guitarist Terrier Collier, who lays down memorable scats and melodies, and Pase Rock also contributes thought-provoking verses over a sweet piano sample ("Favors" by The Great Jazz Trio). Other tracks to check out: "Thank You," "Sea of Cloud," and "Modal Soul.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • high-quality Japan import
  • gatefold jacket
  • originally released in 2005, first time on vinyl
  • music label: Hydeout Productions 2020
reviewed by berry me smiling 03/2020
UPC: 4997184112826


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed