Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Anika Vinyl LP

Stones ThrowSKU lp-4767

political, trashy, dub, punk, funk
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Anika's self titled debut takes me back to when I was first discovering records by groups like ESG and Delta 5. Produced by Portishead's Geoff Barrow, the record does an excellent job of capturing the feel of those No Wave records while simultaneously mining 60s pop. Apparently it was recorded in twelve days, live, with Barrow's current band, Beak. Tracks like "Yang Yang" and "Officer Officer" gravitate towards the punk and dub explorations that were popular at the turn of the 80s. The 60s girl group influence pops up on "Terry" and "I Go to Sleep". One of the standout tunes is "Masters Of War" and its dub version; it's a perfect reverb-drenched ode to our heads of state. The collaboration is political, trashy, dub, punk, funk; a cohesive sound, and an experience in uneasy listening.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • music label: Stones Throw 2010
reviewed by The Voice 2010


UPC: 659457226114


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed