Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Hopelessness (180g) Vinyl LP

Secretly CanadianSKU lp-7797

electronic/avantgarde pop w/ a strong message
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Hopelessness is the debut solo effort from ANOHNI, formerly known as Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons. She’s also with Hercules and Love Affair, perhaps best known for singing on the New York disco/house group’s smash “Blind.” Regarding the release, ANOHNI notes “I have grown tired of grieving for humanity, and I also thought I was not being entirely honest by pretending that I am not a part of the problem.” From the opener “Drone Bomb Me,” the singer/songwriter delves right into the issues: “blow my head off, explode my crystal guts.” The brutally direct and honest lyrics continue on “Obama” (“all the hope drained from your face”), “Execution” (“it’s an American dream, execution, like the Chinese and the Saudis, the North Koreans and the Nigerians”) and every track ‘till the closing seconds of the album. Behind the critical observation of the world, however, are “insanely beautiful” soundscapes courtesy of Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never. The producers lay down textured rhythms and colorful melodies, making Hopelessness a “deadly serious” body of work with a profound message that is also accessible.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • music label: Secretly Canadian 2016
reviewed by buffalo fingers 06/2016
UPC: 90060292


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed