Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Four For Trane (180g) Vinyl LP

Impulse!SKU fr-3294

essential recording from the under celebrated saxophonist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Early studio album from tenor saxophonist, Archie Shepp. Four For Trane was originally recorded on August 10, 1964 and was the Shepp's first date as a leader. The album is made up of one original and four tunes by John Coltrane, Shepp's mentor and one of the main influences on his career. It's one of the standout recordings of Shepp's career, which is due to the strength of the band that he put together and the arranging skills of trombonist Roswell Rudd. Along with Shepp and Rudd are John Tchicai on alto, Coltrane's bassist Reggie Workman, and Ornette Coleman's drummer Charles Moffett. Includes the Coltrane songs "Syeeda's Song Flute," "Mr. Syms," "Cousin Mary," and "Naima," and the Sheep original "Rufus (Swung His Face At Last To The Wind, Then His Neck Snapped)." Released by Impulse! on 180 gram vinyl.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • music label: Impulse! 1964 / 2011
reviewed by Cool Hand 10/2015
UPC: 95209156


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed