Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Schlagenheim (180g) Vinyl LP

Rough TradeSKU lp-10670

fiercely experimental post-punk inspired *rock* music
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$22.95 Original Price$24.99
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Black Midi, contrary to their name, are a pretty analog band. The London Quartet have little internet or media presence and built their reputation from fierce, often improvisational live performances (including one with Damo Suzuki of Can), a few of which were recoreded and posted on Youtube by various thoughtful randos. Singer Geordie Greep’s singing voice will inevitably be compared to that of Mark E. Smith, but the group itself has far more chops than The Fall’s thunderous, yet often shambolic post-punk. The group has definitely ingested the depths of the Factory Records and Rough Trade Distribution rosters, but has much more in common sonically with American groups such as Slint, Shellac, and Unwound. "953" starts with a mere harried guitar riff that explodes into fierce hard rock riffage, the track ending with a protracted prog rock breakdown. “Speedway” is a more restrained tune, softly spoken vocals over chiming guitars, “Near DT, MI” is massively dissonant, guitars with necks wrung. Overall, this is a refreshing, headbanging return to the more aggressive and experimental indie sonics of yore. This LP is pressed on black vinyl and is packaged in a gatefold sleeve and printed insert.

  • 180g vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve and printed inner
  • digital download included
  • music label: Rough Trade 2019
reviewed by ONE FIVE FOUR 07/2019
UPC: 191402007312


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed