Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Eating Us (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Graveface RecordsSKU lp-10816

(relatively) hi-fi Dave Fridmann-prod. mini-album from weirdo PA rockers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Eating Us is the fifth studio album from Pennsylvania-based band Black Moth Super Rainbow. Originally released on CD format, it is the shortest release from the group, clocking in at under 36 minutes. Frontman Tobacco explained his feelings regarding the original creation of the record in a Reddit AMA. “i didn't feel any pressure… the concept of the band had run dry for me, or at least what i had built it as in my head. at the end of the day, i absolutely love what (Dave) Fridmann did. he totally polished a turd. and that's what it was - i was lazy and i made a turd and it's one of those wrongs i'll always be trying to right.” He does admit, however, that “twin of myself and tooth decay are 2 of my favorite songs i've done as bmsr.” He’s right - the production by Dave Fridmann (Mercury Rev, Flaming Lips, MGMT) was a massive sonic step up for the band, resulting in a slicker sounding album that has become a fan favorite despite the misgivings on behalf of its creator. “Born On A Day The Sun Didn’t Rise” is harrowing vocoded vocals above a visceral din of synthesizer, guitar, and pummeling drums. “Twin Of Myself” begins with a lo-fi twinkle, clean breaks among a talkbox serenade that sounds like it’s coming from a haunted doll. “Tooth Decay” starts with blown-out drums and a clean synth line, both exploiting and exploring the contrast between the group’s sludgy hypnagogic pop sound and the higher fidelity recordings on Eating Us. This release is part of the Graveface Archival Series, and is pressed on silver colored vinyl. 

  • silver colored vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • limited edition
  • music label: Graveface Records 2019
reviewed by FLUTING ON THE HUMP 09/2019
UPC: 643157407799


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed