Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Destroyer (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

JagjaguwarSKU lp-10587

concise & rugged stoner metal inspired by the open road
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$16.95 Original Price$22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 169 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Black Mountain is a psychedelic rock band from Vancouver, BC. Destroyer is their fifth record, and their fiercest and most focused effort yet. The album is inspired by group founder Stephen McBean finally getting his driver’s license and experiencing the freedom (and fear) of the wide open road. Destroyer gets its title from the 1985 Dodge Destroyer, a one-run-only hunk of Detroit steel. The album was produced by John Congleton (St. Vincent, War on Drugs, Mountain Goats), and is eight tracks over a concise 43 minutes. The album features several drummers, including Adam Bulgasem (Soft Kill), Kilph Scurlock (Flaming Lips), and Kid Millions (Oneida). The main riff of “Future Shade” was described by McBean as one that has “traveled around the world then hit the bong with a chorus a year and a half later”, but we think it sounds like Ozzy singing through a megaphone over early Judas Priest. “Horns Arising” is stadium-sized Sabbath riffs with icy vocoder, “Boogie Lover” is built on a snaking bass riff with guitar washes cutting through like headlights in fog. “License To Drive” is rumbling Bad Seeds drumrolls and layers of anxious keyboards. This LP is pressed on indie exclusive white vinyl and includes a printed inner sleeve with album lyrics.

  • white vinyl pressing
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Jagjaguwar 2019
reviewed by JET JAGUAR 06/2019
UPC: 656605234038


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed