Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Vol.4 (180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Warner Bros. RecordsSKU lp-7937

expansive, drug addled album from metal originators
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fourth studio album from metal masters, Black Sabbath. Vol.4 was originally recorded in 1972 and at the Record Plant in Los Angeles. The recording session for the is notorious for the copious amounts of cocaine and alcohol the band consumed. Freshly planted in Los Angeles, the band received speaker boxes filled with cocaine on a regular basis. In fact half the recording budget is rumored to have been spent on the drug with the other half going towards extending the band's stay in the studio. The working title for the album was "Snowblind" but the label didn't want the trouble that was bound to come from such an open reference to cocaine. Despite or perhaps because of all the drug use Vol.4 is one of Black Sabbath's more ambitious outings. It has heavy plenty of heavy moments like its predecessor Master Of Reality, but there are mellower moments, as well. The best instance is "Changes" which finds the band switching to piano ballad mode and has gone one to become one of the band's most recognized songs. Includes the songs: "Tomorrow's Dream," "Supernaut," and "Snowblind." Ten tracks in all. Released by Warner Bros. on 180 gram colored vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve.

  • 180 gram colored vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Warner Bros. 2016
reviewed by Hessian Harry 08/2016
UPC: 06263172


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed