Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soul Rebel (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

CleopatraSKU lp-10926

early reggae, produced by Lee "Scratch" Perry
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This is the album that saw Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, and Bunny Wailer complete the shift from ska to conscious reggae. The trio had worked with Lee "Scratch" Perry prior, first on "Try Me" and "My Cup," then the broody "Duppy Conqueror" released in 1970. "Soul Rebels" and "(Who Is) Mr Brown" are some classics that resulted from continued collaboration between the two parties, the former becoming the title of the first album Bob Marley & The Wailers released outside of Jamaica. Lee Perry keeps the instrumentation to a minimum, which results in a sparse, eerie backdrop (giving clues to the rousing work that would follow a little further along his career), and easy-going vocals and harmonies with a deep, conscious message round out the record. Highlights include "My Cup," "Try Me," "Soul Almighty" and the title track.

  • green vinyl pressing
  • Music Label: Cleopatra 1970 / 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 11/2019
UPC: 889466132810


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed