Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Caetano Veloso (Irene, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Lilith SKU fr-4034

second solo album from Brazilian virtuoso
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Nicknamed "Álbum Branco" (White Album in Portuguese) and originally released in '69, Caetano Veloso's eponymous second album as a solo artist was anything but a solo endeavor. Veloso recorded the vocals and Gilberto Gil recorded the guitar parts in a small recording studio in Salvador, where the duo were essentially under house arrest for defying the authoritarian military dictatorship in place at the time. The recordings were then sent to arranger and producer extraordinaire Rogério Duprat in Sao Paulo. Duprat is responsible for some of the best Tropicália albums to have come out of Brazil, including albums by Gal Costa, Os Mutantes and Tom Ze, among others. The album is considered by some to be the best representation of Tropicália music, and as such is very eclectic in sound. Ranging from Bossa Nova to psychedelic rock to traditional Bahian rhythms to tango, the album varies widely but maintains coherent, sober moments for Veloso to be at his most sincere. Songs to check out are the opening track "Irene," "Marinheiro Só," "Os Argonautas," "Não Identificado," and "Alfômega." Limited edition pressing of 500 copies pressed onto clear vinyl. Don't sleep! Recommended.

  • limited edition of 500
  • clear colored vinyl pressing
  • music label: Lilith 2018
reviewed by RBG 1/2019
UPC: 889397741440


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed