Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soundtracks Vinyl LP

SpoonSKU lp-12416

comp of krautrock masters' film score work; up there with their best albums
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Another twisted release from the German psychonauts. Soundtracks was a bridge between Can's first and second proper albums, comprised of commercial (hah) work the band had recorded for films. Of course, Can is about as far from commercial as you can get; and don't think Eno ambience either, the seven pieces in here are prime slices of their hardcore soulful psychedelia. The centerpiece is "Mother Sky," a 15 minute excursion into mind fuckery that could really be a litmus test for whether you should spend any time listening to the group or not. If you can't hang with this, best to catch the next bus. Right up there with some of the Velvet Underground's most intense efforts, this lies at the exact intersection of Punk and Hippy. Another Can classic contained here is "She Brings the Rain," a spooky and slinky pseudo-supper club spellbinder. Nice. "Soul Desert" packs a drumbreak and some Malcolm Mooney yelps (vocals on this LP are split between him and proto-Eye Damo Suzuki), and "Tango Whiskyman" catches an appealing groove as well. Official 2014 reissue with fresh remaster and free MP3 download, recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in repro pic sleeve w/ printed liner note insert
  • digital download included
  • original release year: 1970
  • music label: Spoon 2014 
reviewed by monk 06/2008


UPC: 724596942512


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed