Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials
  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"I'm trying to play the truth of what I am he reason it's difficult is because I'm changing all the time." The 5 two-track master tapes were in care of Hermine Brooks, widow of Detroit drummer Roy Brooks, and Amir Abdullah's "radical discovery" of the recordings brings forth this electrifying release. The 5LP Boxset captures the Charles Mingus Quintet during its week-long residency at Strata Concert Gallery in February of 1973, with Joe Gardner on the trumpet, Don Pullen on keys, Roy Brooks on drums, and John Stubblefield on tenor sax. The music is "blazing," full of furious energy and compositional sophistication of a unique and modern master / bassist / bandleader. Mingus's vision is complemented by the ensemble members' stellar sensibilities, and the tracks, mastered from the OG tapes, really come to life to transport listeners back to Detroit '73. Features never officially recorded or titled track, "Dizzy Profile," as well as extensive sleeve notes and rare photographs as well as a A2 size poster.

  • 180g pressing
  • includes poster
  • 12-page booklet & descriptive sheet
  • music label: BBE Records 2018
reviewed by singing in japanese 12/18
UPC: 00786032

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed