Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Pink Opaque (180g) Vinyl LP

4ADSKU lp-6994

compilation of early material from the ethereal dream pop band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Expertly assembled compilation of early work from the Cocteau Twins. After gaining considerable success in the UK and Europe, the Cocteau Twins were introduced to US with this compilation. The Pink Opaque picks some of the band's best material for a co-release from their home label, 4AD, and American label, Relativity. None of the tracks had been released in the US until this compilation came out. Whoever was tasked with putting it together seems to have known exactly what they were doing. They included the entirety of the excellent Pearly-Dewdrops' Drops EP, all three tracks completely worthy of being a part of the compilation. There's the cover of the Garlands' "Wax and Wane," which is slightly remixed and arguably better than the previously released version. The somewhat rare "Millimillenary," from compilation tape given away by New Musical Express, offers up a good mix of the bands lushness and Elizabeth Fraser's unique vocals. Other songs include "The Spangle Maker," "Hitherto," "From the Flagstones," "Lorelei," and the then recent single "Aikea-Guinea." The perfect teaser for anyone wondering what the Cocteau Twins were all about.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • music label: 4AD 2015
reviewed by draumur prinsessa 07/2015
UPC: 652637350913


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed