Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Dub From Creation (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP (Record Store Day)

On-U SoundSKU rr-2280

landmark debut by Adrian Sherwood's premier dub outfit
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Debut album from London dub luminaries Creation Rebel, finally reissued! Dub From Creation is the first ever production credit by legendary UK dub master Adrian Sherwood, who released the album on his own Hitrun imprint (pre-On U Sound). Engineered by seasoned UK reggae (and eventually, punk and new wave) producer Dennis Bovell (Linton Kwesi Johnson, The Slits, X-O-Dus, Saâda Bonaire), it’s impossible to discuss the trajectory of dub from King Tubby through to European popular music without acknowledging the visionary mixing, deadly bass-and-drum ruffige and smoked out atmosphere of Dub From Creation. The rhythm tracks were laid in Jamaica by a reshuffled lineup of The Arabs and brought to the UK to be given the treatment by Bovell and Sherwood. They took the foundation of dub laid by Tubby’s at 18 Dromilly Avenue and further perverted it to create the signature UK dub sound (more sound FX, more flange, more everything; check out a Mad Professor version or vintage recording of a Jah Shaka clash for further examples of what I mean). It would be the first of many fruitful collaborations between Sherwood and drummer Style Scott, who would play a key role in Sherwood’s Dub Syndicate and New Age Steppers projects. Highlights include “Liberation,” “Vision Of Creation,” “Frontline Dub,” “Dub Fusion,” “Basic Principals.” 40th anniversary reissue on clear vinyl via On U Sound, includes printed inner sleeve with extensive notes about the album’s creation (lick it back selector!!) plus download code for full album plus two bonus tracks. Recommended.

  • clear vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeve w/ extensive liner notes
  • digital download included
  • limited to 1000 copies
  • music label: On-U Sound 2018
reviewed by carparts, bottles & cutlery 07/2018
UPC: 45161736


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed