Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Curtis (Orange Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

CurtomSKU fr-4439

game-changing 1970 solo debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The first album Curtis released as a solo artist (after years of success with the Impressions) and its the same type of revelation that came with Marvin Gaye's What's Going On. Released in 1970, it was a new type of mainstream soul - way more funky and progressive on the arrangements, more political and soulful on the vocals. Imagine hearing something like the spaced out, dont-give-a-shit honesty of the intro to "(Dont Worry) If Theres A Hell Below Were All Gonna Go" back then. Damn, this brother's serious then he kicks in with the funk and strings and keeps on talking to the people. Genius. Other standout tracks include the eight minute dance floor burner "Move On Up," and the sweetly sung movement "We People Who Are Darker Than Blue," but like any great album that has stood the test of time, Curtis really makes its impact felt when you listen to it straight through. Also includes "Ms Black America," "Wild and Free," "Give It Up," "The Makings Of You" and "The Other Side Of Town." Recommended.

  • reddish-orange colored vinyl
  • housed in repro gatefold packaging
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1970
  • music label: Curtom 2021
reviewed by the mgmnt 05/2005


UPC: 725543970510


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed