Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Presents Oceans Apart Sampler Two Vinyl 12"

CuttersSKU lp-7603

Australia's underground compiled
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $12.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 129 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Cut Copy compilation focusing on their backyard. Rewind 10 years before this compilation and we were treated to the debut album from a relatively unknown dance duo that helped shape a new generation. Their debut album, Bright Like Neon, gave us one of the earliest glimpses of what was going on down under. Warm synths, fantastic melodies, essentially a third wave of the more discofied French sound. Fast forward to 2014, Cut Copy has become hugely successful and put a few more albums under their belts and they've turned their focus on where things started for them. 'Oceans Apart' put the spotlight on the up and coming Melbourne scene that has since become one of the most looked to in the world of dance not dance music. Broken into two parts on vinyl, the first sampler is a much more subtle introduction with some Lab favorites showing up. Part two gives us another diverse selection starting things off with Fantastic Man's 'Robotic Temptation', a soundtracky vibe that could have been pulled from a cinemax Macgyver parody (not a dis). Next up is Turkish Prison's 'Overboard' that offers a much more 'Cut Copy' sound. Bell Towers' 'After Party at Jackson's House' is menacing slo-mo cut. NoZu's 'Raw Vis Vision' is a stand out, sounding something like what I would imagine Konk to make if they were still making music.

  • music label: Cutters 2014
reviewed by Sanchez 3/2016
UPC: 29159236


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed