Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Drone Logic (Free MP3) Vinyl 2LP

Phantasy SoundSKU lp-5795

UK house channeling Detroit techno, big beat and acid house
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Daniel Avery's music stands out from the crowd around him. In an era where underground dance producers are leaning towards hyper-rhythmic minimalism and throwback New Jersey garage, he takes a sharp turn in the opposite direction. His sound is big and his productions even larger. Drone Logic is big beat, acid house and exquisite Detroit techno all rolled into one. Avery's sound may be retro, but he doesn't look in the same places as the producers currently looking to the breakbeat hardcore of the early 90s. It's more of a classicist techno sound, geared towards clubs like London's Fabric where Avery cut his teeth as a resident DJ. There is bass that is meant to be felt, along precision tuned sounds aimed at all the right targets. The production quality and attention to detail gives Drone Logic a modern sheen that sets it apart from a lot of what is coming out now. I mean, when Andrew Weatherall is calling your sound "gimmick-free machine-funk of the highest order," you can't be doing much wrong. The rhythms may be simple, at least when you look around the contemporary dance music underground, but that leaves plenty of room to focus on the acid-dusted basslines and massive synth riffs. This is music for the heart of the dance floor.

  • music label: Phantasy Sound 2013
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 11/2013
UPC: 95840605


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed