Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Earth Rot Vinyl 2LP (Record Store Day)

Now-Again RecordsSKU fr-3995

brooding masterwork of baroque jazz fusion
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

LISTEN IN GOOD HEALTH. Now-Again Records dives into the third and final entry of David Axelrod's trilogy of albums made for Capitol Records between 1968 and 1970. From the rear cover Earth Rot is self-described as 'A musical comment on the state of the environment,' and, with the theme of ecology in mind, Axe takes you on a gripping, impeccably produced journey into the existential threat of man-made ecologocial and climate disaster. The albums themes are just as - if not more - poignant now than they were almost 40 years ago. With Axelrod's trademark heavily microphoned backbeat drums, baroque orchestration and choral vocals, its no wonder how his productions helped lay the foundation for hip-hops architects. Axe's productions have been sampled by such hip-hop heavyweights as Madlib, Diamond D, Dr. Dre, DJ Premier, Swizz Beatz and of course DJ Shadow. To add to the sweetness, the second LP of this release includes the never-before-released instrumental version, making it a whole new listening experience for labheads who've listened to this album before. Also includes an over-sized 28 page booklet that delves into Axelrod's incredible life and music, including never before seen photos and an extensive interview with Axelrod by Now Again founder Eothen Alapatt and Wax Poetics' Brian Digenti. Highly recommended, this album is not to be missed.

  • third + final entry in Axelrod's album trilogy for Capitol Records
  • double vinyl pressing includes never-before-released instrumental versions
  • audiophile reissue lacquered directly from original eq-ed master tapes at Capitol Records
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ 28 page booklet
  • edition of 2850
reviewed by RBG 12/2018
UPC: 57285488

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed