Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Go Bang! #5 (Arthur Russell) Vinyl 12"

Get On DownSKU dm-5494

leftfield disco classic from 1982
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $12.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 129 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

I wanna see all my friends at once. Released on Sleeping Bag Records (aka Fresh Records of early EPMD fame), the credits read like an all-star line up: Arthur Russell and Will Socolov on production with Francois K on the mix. Dinosaur L's "Go Bang" was one of those multi-genre tracks of the time, influential both in the no-wave scene and disco scene. The key aspect of the song is its sense of movement. It starts with one of the finest intros around: floating trumpets, a sick break, and dubbed out guitars. The sound keeps getting thicker as the piano work comes in and male and female vocals start going. The build up finally gives way to a latin-style percussion breakdown followed by an intense "I wanna go BANG!" crescendo. Fucking intense. B-side is also noteworthy for the leftfield disco-rap track "Clean Your Bean." This is a crucial piece of the New York music scene circa 1982.

  • official 2016 reissue
  • music label: Get On Down 2016
reviewed by the mgmnt 05/2016
UPC: 38995460


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed