Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Rollin' Vinyl 2LP

HyperdubSKU lp-9331

breakthrough footwork-jungle hybrid 4-track, R.I.P.
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The first time I heard this, my jaw dropped - the frenzied jungle breaks, elephant sub bass, chopped up pads and frenetic 808 snares fit together perfectly, so why hadn't anyone done it before? DJ Rashad was a true master, having been at the forefront of a half-dozen mutations of Chicago house, from the classic ghetto house era with his earliest recordings on Dance Mania, through juke with DJ Godfather’s Juke Trax label, the OG ice-cold footwork sound surveyed on Planet Mu’s Bangs & Works and into the halftime trap and jungle-infused variants explored here as well as his genre-defining Double Cup full-length. Rollin’ was Rashad’s first outing for the highly-respected Hyperdub label, and by joining the ranks of cutting-edge 21st century artists like Burial, Hype Williams, Laurel Halo and Zomby, an entire swath of music nerds suddenly realized what they were missing all along and the entire Chicago footwork scene was instantly elevated to newly respected heights. The title track cleverly flips some vintage Jagged Edge into an eerie ode (or perhaps a warning?) to MDMA. “Let It Go” and “Drums Please” are two twisted rollers that show off Rashad’s sampling chops with soul for days, and final side “Broken Hearted” flips Stevie’s “You Will Know” for what is quite possibly the most heartbreaking juke track of all time; with Rashad’s passing rendering it all the more chilling in hindsight. Four tracks cut loud and deep at 45rpm, one per side, all killer no filler. Recommended.

  • pressed at 45 RPM
  • double vinyl pressing
  • music label: Hyperdub 2013
reviewed by hannibal chew 02/2018
UPC: 72109576


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed