Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Durand Jones & The Indications Vinyl LP

Dead OceansSKU fr-3934

soul nostalgists' 2016 debut back in print
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

There’s a lot of talk about the classic “midwest sound” of Indiana soul revivalists Durand Jones & The Indications, but frontman Durand Jones is actually from Louisiana; he only found himself in Indiana for college shortly before he started playing with the band. Regardless, Jones & co. nail that vintage Motown / Tamla sound, with the country-fried sheen of the best Stax sides soaring through Jones’ voice on tracks like “Can’t Keep My Cool” and “Make A Change.” But the band’s crates run much deeper, citing soul obscurities like The Ethics and The Icemen as inspiration for this debut full-length. The band recorded Durand Jones & The Indications at home on a Tascam 4-track, lending an inimitable lo-fi veneer to complement the band’s vintage songs. If you didn’t know any better, you’d assume this was a newly-unearthed Numero Group joint. The album came out rather quietly on Colemine Records back in 2016, but demand has surged as a result of the band’s relentless touring over the past year, and Dead Oceans step up to remedy the shortage with a fresh repress. Daptone aficionados should be all over this; also goes down well paired with those cushy Isaac Hayes reissues.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • digital download included
  • music label: Dead Oceans 2018
reviewed by big dumb man 03/2018
    UPC: 656605145716


    Review & Q+A

    Labheads Also Viewed