Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Fresh Out (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Soul Jazz RecordsSKU fr-4074

deep key-based Detroit jazz debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$21.95 Original Price$29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Seminal deep jazz debut from keyboardist Eddie Russ. Russ was a key figure to come out of the Detroit jazz scene of the early 1970's. It was a scene that included some of the deepest spiritual jazz labels (Tribe, Strata) and some of the city's heaviest players (including Wendell Harrison, Marcus Belgrave, Phil Ranelin, and Harold McKinney). Originally released in 1974 on the independent Detroit label Jazz Masters, the album has remained a staple among collectors practically since it's release, and original copies top out at triple digits on the secondhand market. While the album is Eddie Russ's debut, it also features the debut of the group The Mixed Bag, who went on to record for both Tribe and Strata Records. The album includes the classic jazz-dance cut (and maybe one of the first examples of "acid"-jazz) "The Lope Song", an absolutely blistering groover full of three of my favorite things: rhodes keys, flute (performed by Larry Nozero), and funk-laden drums. Other tracks to check out include the equally groovy "Shamading", "Hill Where The Lord Hides", and "Watergate Blues". Pressed on red vinyl in a strictly limited edition of 1,000 copies. 6 tracks in all, released by Soul Jazz Records. Recommended.

  • red vinyl pressing
  • limited edition of 1,000 copies
  • download code included
  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2019
reviewed by Roberto Pinstripe 3/2019
UPC: 85077850


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed