Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Encore Vinyl 2LP

AftermathSKU hh-4348

the re-re-return of Marshall Mathers, 2004
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

The re-re-return of Eminem finds him at an interesting crossroads: caught somewhere between the dizzying wordplay of the Marshall Mathers LP and the palatable, multi-tasking efforts of putting out a clothing line, starring in films, and producing dead people's records, Eminem has never come off as more in-between personas in his career. And it's this ability to alternate between styles, identities, and flows that both defines and detracts from Encore. Aside from singles "Just Lose It" and "Encore" with 50 Cent & Dre, much the album is lyrically hypnotizing, as on the opener "Evil Deeds," the autobiographical "Yellow Brick Road," and "My 1st Single." When Eminem is at his sharpest, he demands your complete attention, whether skewering himself, rapping a lullaby to his daughter ("Mockingbird"), or going line for line in the D-12 storytelling track ("One Shot 2 Shot"). Unfortunately, tracks like "Puke," "Big Weenie," and "Rain Man" are very funny... then kind of funny.... then ultimately forgettable, relying too heavily on the whiny, or gimmicky. Despite this, Eminem manages to portray himself simultaneously as a relentlessly unsatisfied (Marshall Mathers), misunderstood (Eminem), angry blonde ambitioneer (Slim Shady) that commits suicide by the album's conclusion. Which of these identities is actually dead and which will return for the next album remains to be seen.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Aftermath 2013
reviewed by the Woodman 05/2005
UPC: 602498646748


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed