Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Exploded View Vinyl LP

Sacred Bones RecordsSKU lp-8193

chilling post punk + goth inspired material
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$14.95 Original Price$19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 149 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It's been a few years since we last heard from Anika. After the one two punch of 2010's and 2013's eponymous releases that saw her collaborating with Geoff Barrow's Beak> we've been hungry for more. Exploded View gives us that and more. Born out of rehearsals for her 2014 solo shows in Mexico, the band developed a sound that took a few steps away from her previous releases. The band - made up of Martin Thulin, Hugo Quezada and Amon Melgarejo - abandoned the krautrock of the Beak> releases and turned towards post-punk, new wave, goth and industrial for inspiration. Many of the songs are taught with tension, seemingly about to explode from the tape they were recorded on. Perhaps that is due to these being single takes, with every impulse of the musicians laid bare. That it does not all fall apart is impressive enough in and of itself. However, it's in the subtler moments that Exploded View really shines. "Lark Descending" feels like a lost Psychic TV recording with its brooding, dissonant chords and Anika's monotone vocals. And the album's closer "Killjoy" feels as if it has been excavated from the dregs of a Dusty Springfield session. Eleven tracks in all. Released by Sacred Bones Records on black vinyl with a digital download code.

  • digital download included
  • music label: Sacred Bones Records 2016
reviewed by wander lost 11/2016
UPC: 56329544


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed