Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

How Strange Innocence Anniversary Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Temporary Residence Ltd.SKU lp-10732

long OOP, minimalist debut from Austin post-rockers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$31.95 Original Price$34.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Breaker Morant was founded in Austin, TX in 1999, but the instrumental rock group changed their name to Explosions In The Sky before the release of their first album, How Strange, Innocence. Initially issued as an edition of 300 CD-Rs on Sad Loud America, the album was remastered and issued on CD by Temporary Residence in 2005. The band had not yet refined their brand of “cathartic mini symphonies”, resulting a relatively minimalist record that Pitchfork describes as “no explosions, only minor flares.” They owe a clear debt to Mogwai and Godspeed!, but from this bit of juvenilia you can see the seeds of what eventually differentiated them from their post-rock forebearers - layers of intricately played guitar with little low-end, crashing drum fills, length medidtations and surprising arrangements. The band seems a little embarrassed about this record, (at one point, the band rremarked that they wished to buy every copy and burn them), but tracks like “Magic Hours” and “Time Stops” will insist upon a careful listen. This album has only been available on vinyl as a super-limited tour exclusive in 2004, quickly becoming little more than a Discogs legend. In honor of the group’s 20th anniversary, the album has been remastered by Heba Kadry with lacquers recut by Bob Weston (of Shellac, Mission of Burma) and is packaged in a heavyweight triple gatefold jacket. The LP is pressed on light & dark blue mixed colored vinyl and has a specially etched d-side with liner notes from the band. 

  • double light and blue mixed vinyl pressing
  • heavyweight tri-fold sleeve
  • includes printed insert and etched d-side
  • digital download included
  • limited to 4000 copies
  • music label: Temporary Residence Ltd. 2019
reviewed by P.S.: HI TOMMY! 08/2019
UPC: 656605308548


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed