Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Juan Pablo - The Philosopher Vinyl LP

Enter The Jungle RecordsSKU lp-9635

new school London jazz
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Juan Pablo: The Philosopher is the Ezra Collective’s second offering of modern UK jazz, following the self-released suprise hit Chapter 7. The quintet burn through 4 original compositions and one cover (Sun Ra!) at breakneck speed, and it’s a refreshing, forward-thinking take on the harmonic and rhythmic breakthroughs of the jazz greats but without the stress of living up to or exceeding the expectations of stylistic innovations that haunted many of the great players of the 1980s and 90s. Like their contemporaries Yussef Kamaal and Sons Of Kemet, Ezra Collective’s contemporary jazz sound is informed by an upbringing spent surrounded by jungle, grime, pirate radio and hip-hop, but their roots and identity as part of the African diaspora loom largest on Juan Pablo, and the spirit of Fela Kuti courses through the entire record. Femi Koleoso’s drumming is enough to move the ass of any Tony Allen devotee. Pianist Joe Armon-Jones’ playing repeatedly recalls the work of Lonnie Liston Smith; first on the space-echoed opening trills of “The Philosopher,” and again on the hair-raising arpeggios that fill up “People In Trouble.” The entire unit plays together so tight, it’s as if it were their cosmic duty to make this record. On the penultimate track, James Mollison resets the vibe with half a minute of solo tenor before the crew launch into a stunning afrobeat rework of Sun Ra’s “Space Is The Place.” Originally released last fall, the EP quickly went out of print and is now changing hands for upwards of $70, so this repress is a crucial second chance if you missed it the first time around. Mixed by Floating Points and Matt Mysko.

  • music label: Enter The Jungle Records 2018
reviewed by big dumb man 05/2018
UPC: 55627128


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed