Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Crush (Indie Exclusive) Vinyl LP

Ninja TuneSKU lp-10787

Sam Shepherd’s dancefloor-focused return-to-form
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Crush is like the Floating Points record I’ve always wanted. While I enjoyed the tender classical minimalism of Elaenia as much as the next NPR program director, Crush is Sam Shepherd doing what he does best; rolling out functional, immaculately-crafted tracks for the dancefloor that tickle the synapses, delivering on the promise of early singles “Vacuum Boogie,” “People’s Potential” and “J&W Beat” in long form. The best tunes here hit you squarely in the chest but are still as *intelligent* as you’d expect from a guy with a PhD in neuroscience. “Last Bloom” is microtonal electro reminiscent of some of RDJ’s more dancefloor-tuned fare; “Anasickmodular” is swinging breaks-fueled ruffage, tuff as any Ice Cream Records classic with atmosphere for days. Early preview single “LesAlpx” is back in slightly abridged form (get the extended mix here) as the album’s centerpiece, a cunning slice of dark house that seems like it would go off just as hard at Berghain as it would at EDC or even your local bar gig. “Bias” is a slinky roller draped in brooding synth cascades and a hefty swinging rhythm indebted to vintage 2-step (a nod to Zed Bias, innit). This is the Floating Points record for the punters, but there’s enough Buchla synth meditations (”Karakul,” “Birth,” “Sea-Watch”) and mutant orchestral twissups (“Falaise,” “Requiem for CS70 and Strings”) to appease the chin strokers. Indie exclusive variant contains alternate cover with full color artwork printed inside and out, 4-page booklet with the musical score for “Birth” and code for digital download. Recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • indie exclusive version w/ alternate artwork
  • includes 4 page booklet
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Ninja Tune 2019
reviewed by laughable butane bob 08/2019
UPC: 5054429138986


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed