Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Bobby Bobylon - Deluxe Edition Vinyl LP

Studio OneSKU rr-2276

Studio One classic remastered w/ bonus tracks + rare mixes
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"I know your evil plan, Mister Babylon..." Freddie McGregor was part of the next generation of Studio One artists mining the label’s catalog and repurposing classic riddims, a sea change initiated by the late great Sugar Minott on his debut album Live Loving, released in 1977. Bobby Bobylon was Freddie’s debut album for the reggae institution, released a whopping 14 years after he debuted on the label ‘longside Ernest ‘Fitzroy’ Wilson as Fredie & Fitsy with the “Do Good” single in 1965. More 45s trickled out over the years, but Freddie’s “Bobby Bobylon” single, a re-rub of Jackie Mittoo’s classic “One Step Beyond,” did serious damage in the dance in 1979, leading to this Clement Dodd-produced LP of the same name. The album collects a few of the heavier singles released in the few years prior, notably “Rastaman Camp” and a reworked version of “Revolutionist,” plus new takes on Studio One classics “Undying Love” by former partner Ernest Wilson (“Wine Of Violence”) and The Kingstonians' “I Make A Woman” (“We Need More Love”). If a deluxe remastered pressing of the original album weren’t enough (it is), this double vinyl set includes alternate mixes and rare tracks on the second LP, all housed in a gatefold jacket containing rare photos and extensive liner notes. Recommended.

  • deluxe remastered edition
  • double vinyl pressing
  • LP1 contains original album
  • LP2 contains bonus tracks, rare singles + extended mixes
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Studio One 2018
reviewed by hannibal chew 03/2018
UPC: 65631496


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed