Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised (UK Import) Vinyl LP

BGP RecordsSKU fr-4567

superb compilation from soul jazz poet's Flying Dutchman years
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

A flawless compilation of Gil Scott-Heron’s early years. Originally released in 1974 on the Flying Dutchman label, this LP compiles Gil's best and most popular work from his crucial 1970-74 Flying Dutchman period, released shortly after he left the label to record first with Strata East, then major label Arista. Although this is a compilation, it has the integrity and continuity of an LP drawing his most musical and moving works. Features "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised," "Lady Day and John Coltrane," "Pieces of a Man," "Home is Where the Hatred Is," "Save the Children," "Whitey on the Moon," Did You Hear What They Said?" and more. Musicians include Brian Jackson, Ron Carter, Bernard Purdie and Hubert Laws; produced by Bob Thiele.

  • 1974 compilation of songs from soul-jazz singer + poet Gil Scott-Heron's first three albums for the Flying Dutchman label, produced by Bob Thiele
  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • UK import
  • housed in repro gatefold sleeve
  • music label: BGP Records 2017
reviewed by the mgmnt 10/2005
UPC: 029667005814


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed