Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Inner City Life (Burial Remix, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 12"

MetalheadzSKU dm-5715

refreshing update of drum & bass classic w/ Burial remix
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

If there are three words that perfectly characterize Burial’s music, they’re “Inner City Life.” Goldie first teased the existence of this remix over two years ago in an interview with Gilles Peterson, and our imagination ran wild with the possibilities. Burial’s modus operandi in 2017 seems to be to confound expectations, and rather than turning in an airy, stripped down roller capitalizing on the tune’s uncanny atmosphere, he delivers a jagged mix that runs parallel to the original, rebuilding the atmosphere from the ground up with new snatches of eerie vocals and jungle breaks in an attempt to rival the electrifying energy of Goldie's version. We’re not sure that it accomplishes just that, but it’s certainly a unique and enjoyable take on a certified classic that only Burial could deliver. Like all Burial tunes from the past 6 or 7 years, his remix shifts shapes two or three times, packing in what could easily be a handful of different mixes into one epic song suite. The first chunk harps on the same thorny looped break, peppered with Burial’s signature urban aesthetics. But the final two minutes are breathtaking, chopping up fragments of a few other tracks from the Timeless album and sprinkling them over stretches of sublime ambience and the main drum break, this time coupled with a bittersweet vocal loop that conjures pure hardcore rave bliss. The “2017 Rebuild” is no slouch either; a gentle update that is unbelievably faithful to the original, edited by nu-skool Metalheadz duo Ulterior Motive in all the ways that count. Diane Charlemagne (R.I.P.)’s disarming vocal is slightly higher in the mix, the drums are crisper and the bass is deeper (check the audio samples). Those of us who missed out on the limited RSD black vinyl pressing are rewarded for our patience with this stunning silver colored vinyl pressing. Recommended.

  • silver colored vinyl
  • limited edition
  • music label: Metalheadz 2017
reviewed by exit woundz 09/2017
UPC: 73473736


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed