Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soundtrack - Songs From + Original Score Deluxe Vinyl Edition 2LP

Hollywood RecordsSKU lp-6218

Awesome Mix Vol. 1 and the original score from the hit movie
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

James Gunn's sci-fi epic, Guardians Of The Galaxy, turned out to be a surprise hit. There's no doubt that it owes at least some of that success to the soundtrack. While Tyler Bates' score does what it's supposed to do, it's the songs on Awesome Mix Vol. 1 that amplify the fun of the movie. The cassette tape and the Walkman that it resides in set the stage for some of the movie's most memorable moments. Were introduced to the tape when Chris Pratt's Peter Quill sings 10cc's "I'm Not In Love" to distract himself from his sick mom. From there he's kidnapped and taken to an alien planet; his only connection to his home is the tape. Gunn put the soundtrack together when he was writing the movie. Certain songs would even inspire him to write a scene. He's got Quill juxtaposing the violence of raccoons in prison with "Hooked On A Feeling" and singing "Ooh, child, things are gonna get easier" to the main villain. When you hear The Jackson 5's "I Want You Back" it will probably take you to the closing credits with Groot dancing around. Awesome Mix Vol. 1 carries on the spirit of Quentin Tarantino's early soundtracks where each song is tied to a memorable moment in the movie.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Hollywood Records 2014
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 09/2014
UPC: 050087310882


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed