Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pacific Vinyl LP

VictorySKU lp-9975

breezy 1978 ocean jazz-funk from Japanese super friends
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"The sun's in her hair, the warmth of the air, on a summer day..." Pacific is the cumulative effort of a who’s-who of Japanese musicians, notably former Happy End bandmates Shigeru Suzuki and Haruomi Hosono (fun fact I just learned about Harry: his grandfather was a Titanic survivor and the only Japanese passenger onboard), and city pop king Tatsuro Yamashita. The gang got in the studio in 1978 to create an album that would “evoke the atmospheres of the South Pacific islands, the kind of places Japanese people spend their vacations,” and the result is a rare full-length foray into breezy city pop, cerulean jazz and tropical fusion that’s (almost) entirely instrumental, unlike the players’ individual solo works from around this time. Hosono, Suzuki and Yamashita get top billing, but Ryuichi Sakamoto and Yukihiro Takahashi play on nearly every track too, making this a precursor to Yellow Magic Orchestra (along with Hosono’s Paraiso, released the same year). “Kiska” is our personal fave of the set; a Herbie-grade synth funk groove drizzled with ace sax and guitar solos by Yamashita collaborators Hidefumi Toki and Kenji Omura. The nine-plus minute “Nostalgia of Island” suite beings with some slightly-unsettling surf guitar and synth pads straight out of David Lynch’s unproduced beach party flick, fades out to the sound of crashing waves and into some more upbeat (but still Lynchian) summery beach pop sporting a single Beach Boys-esque vocal refrain; the only vocals to appear anywhere on the album. Disco synth burner “Cosmic Surfin” (YMO would later re-record this one for their debut album) ends the record on a slightly more upbeat and nocturnal note, cuz beach bums gotta dance too. “Coral Reef,” “Slack Key Rhumba” and “Saigo No Rakuen” are other high points. Housed in glossy full repro pic sleeve with original artwork and poly inner sleeve, includes single-sided insert with full album credits. Recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in glossy full pic sleeve
  • poly inner sleeve
  • includes printed insert w/ album credits
  • music label: Victory 2017
reviewed by sunrise mart 09/2018
UPC: 4988009130422


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed