Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Music For Nine Post Cards (Clear Colored Vinyl) LP

Empire of SignsSKU lp-11466

minimal Japanese ambient grail finally reissued
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Serenity as sound. Another Japanese ambient grail finally available again on vinyl, this time courtesy of Empire Of Signs. Though Hiroshi Yoshimura remains criminally unknown to most outside of his home country, his work played a key part in the development and history of Japanese ambient music in the 80's. Music For Nine Post Cards is Yoshimura's debut from 1982, a masterpiece of the genre recorded on the minimalist setup of just a keyboard and a Fender Rhodes. The album presents a calm, entrancing quality through repetition of gentle melodies, a feature that would become a trademark of Yoshimura's work. Along with his contemporary and Sound Process label founder Satoshi Ashikawa (who originally released the record) Yoshimura sought to find "a new dialog between sound and space: music not as an external absolute, but as something that interlocks with a physical environment and shifts the listener’s experience within it." If you are new to the sound, or a longtime fan (especially if you like Midori TakadaRyuichi SakamotoBrian EnoErik Satie, etc.), Music For Nine Postcards is a timeless work that is rewarding on repeat listens. This 2020 clear vinyl repress features fully remastered sound from the original tapes, new liner notes from Yoshimura's widow Yoko Yoshimura, and obi strip. Well recommended. 

  • clear vinyl pressing
  • remastered sound from the original tapes
  • new liner notes by Yoko Yoshimura, Spencer Doran and Maxwell August Croy
  • includes obi strip
  • music label: Empire of Signs 2020
reviewed by Otakun 03/2018
UPC: 826853444415


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed