Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records Vinyl 2LP

FaiticheSKU lp-10404

2001 techno cut-ups via microsampled jazz
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $32.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 329 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Jan Jelinek’s debut LP under his government name (Personal_Rock, his 1999 full-length as Gramm, is also worth seeking out) is constructed entirely out of samples from old jazz records. While most might take that mission statement as an excuse to make loopy filter house, Jelinek’s metallurgic approach extracts grooves at a molecular level and reconstructs them; properly stripped-down techno in finest 2001 style. It’s an idealistic departure from the prevailing minimal techno sound of the new millenium, borne from the banality and existential pointlessness of Clicks & Cuts-style electronic music. We love Jan's Dieter Rams-esque doctrine: “Loop-finding-jazz-records follows one certain production idea. This probably made it successful. All the pieces are like well-designed objects: no random, accidental moments, all focused on a harmony. This makes it enjoyable as functional music—music to work to, write emails to, etc.” Towards the end of “Moire - Piano & Organ,” you can almost make out the transients of a vibraphone ringing out, before “Rock In The Video Age” washes up on the shore and you lose the plot entirely. “Tendency” is the lone joint I could see slipping into an afterhours set, but the rest of it is pure headphone business for planes, trains & automobiles - in the best possible way, like a faceless / wordless Vespertine. “Drift,” “They, Them” and “Do Dekor” are delectably crunchy microhouse snacks, but best to listen from start to finish. 2017 2LP reissue on Jelinek’s own Faitiche imprint, includes download code. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • originally released in 2001
  • digital download included
  • music label: Faitiche 2017
reviewed by winston wolf 02/2019
UPC: 880918227009


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed