Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Spiritual Jazz Vol.1 - Esoteric, Modal And Deep Jazz From The Underground 1968-77 Vinyl 2LP

JazzmanSKU fr-4204

landmark 2008 deep jazz comp, ltd remastered repress
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Spiritual jazz, soul jazz, black jazz, free jazz: these terms emerged in the late 60s / early 70s to describe a moment in music that was being increasingly defined by the rife socio-political climes surrounding the jazz world. Some of these recordings have gone on to such adoration, they eclipse the decades of foundational jazz that precede it; others languish in obscurity and are quickly forgotten, only to be dredged up by discerning sound seekers like the gang at UK’s Jazzman Records. This first volume of the Spiritual Jazz series was originally released in 2008, collecting 12 sides of avant-garde and politically-charged soul jazz by scene fixtures from the American underground and beyond. From Egyptian drummer Salah Ragab to third-string Arkestra bassist Ronnie Boykins, none of these artists will likely be familiar even to the most seasoned heads, let alone household names. As such, many of the original pressings from whence these recordings originally appeared are now impossibly rare - Jazzman does the deep digging (and licensing) here so you don’t have to. The series has since grown to become one of the most reliable surveys of this music and its various strains plucked from the worldwide jazz diaspora, and volume 1 is a near-perfect primer for anyone humbly looking to expand their jazz horizons. Check out James Tatum Trio Plus’ neutralizing “Introduction,” Morris Wilson Beau Bailey Quintet’s funky “Paul's Ark,” Hastings Street Jazz Experience’s widescreen “Ja Mil” or The Frank Derrick Total Experience’s self-explanatory “No Jive” for a taste. Limited double vinyl repress with remastered audio and extensive liner notes executed in signature Jazzman style, recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • remastered 2019 pressing, originally released in 2008
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ extensive liner notes
  • limited edition of 1000
  • music label: Jazzman 2020
reviewed by nick nightingale 10/2019
UPC: 5036468277208


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed