Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Crescent (Acoustic Sounds 180g) Vinyl LP

Impulse!SKU fr-4660

1964 avant-garde blitz, high quality remaster from og. tapes
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$26.95 Original Price$38.95
Deep discounts on classic vinyl!
While supplies last, shop all Universal Titles On Sale
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Released in 1964, Crescent is one of sax master John Coltrane's finest albums, featuring the talents of McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones. During 1964 John Coltrane spent the least amount of time in the recording studio of his entire solo career. It wasn't until April 27 that ‘Trane, along with Tyner, Garrison and Jones went to the familiar surroundings of Rudy Van Gelder's Englewood Cliff's studio to begin work on the album that came to be called, Crescent. They recorded all the tracks that appear on Crescent, along with 'Songs Of Praise,' but not the final versions of the album's five tracks. From that first day's recording the ones that make the final cut are, 'Lonnie's Lament,' 'The Drum Thing' and 'Wise One.' The first two of these three tracks make up all of side two of the album and on 'Lonnie's Lament' Coltrane does not solo at all, instead it features a long bass solo by Garrison." - Acoustic Sounds

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • Acoustic Sounds edition remastered from original analog tapes
  • housed in tip-on gatefold sleeve w/ liner notes
  • limited edition
  • featuring John Coltrane (t. sax), McCoy Tyner (p), Jimmy Garrison (b), Elvin Jones (d)
  • original release year: 1964
  • music label: Impulse! 2022
UPC: 602438075829


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed